IES Eligibility Criteria 2019

IES Eligibility Criteria 2019

Engineering Service Exam (ESE) which is also famous by the name IES (Indian Engineering Services) is conducted by Union Public Service Commission (UPSC). Another Popular name amongst the candidates is UPSC ESE Exam. Indian Engineering Service is the civil service that meets the technical and managerial function of the government of India. In this article, we will discuss IES Eligibility Criteria 2019, IES Age Limit 2019, IES Qualification, educational eligibility criteria etc.

Other branches of Engineering like Computer science and engineering can write ESE exam by selecting one of the above-mentioned branches. Most of the CSE Students opt for Electronic Engineering for IES exam.

Eligible Branches

  • Electronics & Telecommunication Engineering
  • Electrical Engineering
  • Mechanical Engineering
  • Civil Engineering

Eligibility Criteria of Qualification for ISE/ESE

  • A candidate must have an engineering degree from a University incorporated by an Act of the Central Government or State Legislature in India.
  • The candidate obtained a degree/diploma in engineering from such foreign Universities/College/Institutions and under such conditions as may be recognized by the Government for the purpose from time to time.
  • Passed Graduate Membership Examination of the Institution of Electronic & Telecommunication Engineers (India).
  • Passed Association Membership Examination Parts II & III/section A & B of the Aeronautical Society of India.
  • Passed Graduate Membership Examination of the Institution of Electronic and Radio Engineers, London held after November 1959.

Age Limits

  • A candidate for this examination must have attained the age of 21 years and must not have attained the age of 30 years on the 1st August, of the exam year.
  • The upper age limit of 30 years will be relaxable up to 35 years if a candidate belongs to a scheduled caste or a scheduled tribe.
  • Upto a maximum of three years in the case of candidates belonging to OBC category.
  • Upto a maximum of five years if a candidate had ordinarily been domiciled in the state of Jammu & Kashmir during the period from 1st January 1980 to the 31st day of December 1989.
  • Upto a maximum of three years in the case of defence service personnel disabled in operations during hostilities with any foreign country or in a disturbed area, and released as a consequence thereof.
  • Upto a maximum of 10 years in the case of blind, deaf-mute and Orthopaedically handicapped persons.
  • (v) Upto a maximum of five years in the case of ex-servicemen including Commissioned Officers and ECOs/SSCOs who have rendered at least five years Military Service as on 1st August, and have been released
  1. on completion of assignment (including those whose assignment is due to be completed within one year from 1st August) otherwise than by way of dismissal or discharge on account of misconduct or inefficiency,
  2. on account of physical disability attributable to Military Service
  3. on invalidment
  4. Upto a maximum of five years in the case of ECOs/SSCOs who have completed an initial period of assignment of five years of Military Services as on 1st August, and whose assignment has been extended beyond five years and in whose case the Ministry of Defence issues a certificate that they can apply for civil employment and they will be released on three months’ notice on selection from the date of receipt of offer of appointment.